How Nelly Korda’s streak of five consecutive LPGA wins ranks in the history of golf

Nelly Korda joined rarified air on Sunday at the 2024 Chevron Championship when she collected her fifth consecutive LPGA title. Only two women have ever accomplished the feat (Annika Sorenstam and Nancy Lopez) and three men (Byron Nelson, Tiger Woods and Ben Hogan).

Korda became the first player currently ranked No. 1 to win an LPGA major since Lydia Ko did so at this championship in 2016. This marks her 13th career LPGA title and second major championship. By the looks of it, there’s no slowing her down.

Take a look at the best streaks in golf history:

Byron Nelson – 11

Nelson played in 30 events in 1945 and won 18 of them. He also finished second seven times that season. The streak of 11 wins includes a 10-stroke victory at the Montreal Open and an 11-stroke triumph at the Tam O’Shanter Open. Toward the end of the streak, Nelson won the PGA Championship, the only major played that year due to World War II.

Tiger Woods – 7

Woods’ streak of seven titles began at the 2006 British Open Championship at St. Andrews and ended at the 2007 Buick Invitational. He won a second major title, the PGA Championship, in the midst of a stretch that saw him a total of 124-under par.

Ben Hogan – 6

Ben Hogan’s 10-win season in 1948 included a six-win streak that began at the U.S. Open at Riviera, where he set a championship record of 8 under that shoot for more than 30 years. Hogan also won the PGA Championship that summer.

Tiger Woods – 6

A dramatic comeback at the Pebble Beach Pro-Am gave Woods his sixth consecutive title in 2000. Down seven strokes with seven holes to play, Woods holed out for eagle on the 15th hole and rode that momentum into the clubhouse.

Woods streak began in August 1999 at the NEC Invitational and extended to February 2000 at Pebble Beach. He became the first player since Ben Hogan to win six straight.

Tiger Woods – 5

The particular Woods’ streak began with the 2007 BMW Invitational and stretched through the 2008 Arnold Palmer Invitational, where Woods sank a 24-foot birdie putt on the final hole at Bay Hill to clinch the title. He lost the following week to Geoff Ogilvy at the WGC-CA Championship at Doral.

Nancy Lopez – 5

Korda became the first American to win four consecutive starts on the LPGA since Lopez won five straight as a rookie in 1978. The streak began in mid-May at the Greater Baltimore Classic and extended through mid-June, with a major title at the LPGA Championship in between. She’d go on to win nine times in total that season.

Annika Sorenstam – 5

Korda became the second player in tour history to enter a major coming off four wins in consecutive starts, following in the footsteps of Sorenstam.

The legendary Swede ended the 2004 season with back-to-back victories and then carried on the streak in 2005 when she won her first two starts in March at the MasterCard Classic and Safeway International.

That took Sorenstam to the season’s first major, the Kraft Nabisco, where she went bogey-free over the weekend to win by eight.

Nelly Korda – 5

Korda clinched her second major title at the Chevron Championship and became only the third LPGA player in history to win five consecutive starts. Korda’s streak began in her hometown of Bradenton, Florida, and ended at a major. In between, she took a seven-week break from competition before rattling off four wins in five weeks. No LPGA player has ever won six consecutive events.

Source: Golfweek

Share this article

You May Also Like

Subscribe To Our Blog